The Bermuda National Trust was incorporated by a public Act of Parliament, The Bermuda National Trust Act 1969, which created a membership-based organisation with the mission to protect and promote Bermuda’s heritage. It is a registered charity (#81) in good standing.

The Trust is governed by a Council of not more than 13 members, assisted by several committees of volunteers with expertise in all areas of Trust activity. In addition to this strong volunteer team, the Trust is managed by a professional staff led by the Executive Director.

Under the incorporating legislation, the Council is composed of:

    • 6 to 10 persons elected annually by the Trust membership
    • three persons appointed by the Governor.

Officers of the Council are the President, Vice-President and Treasurer.

Alana Anderson
President, Executive Chair
Mark Orchard
Vice President, Governance Chair
Andrew DeGregorio 
Treasurer, Finance Chair
Zeudi Hinds
Development Committee
William White
Finance and Governance Committees
Stratton Hatfield
Development Committee
Robin Mayor
Development Committee
Peter Hebberd
Development Chair, Auction & Jumble Committee
Michael Leverock
Governance Committee
Meredith Ebbin
Museums & Collections Committee and Governance Committee
Mariette Savoie
Finance Committee, Governance Committee, Fundraising Dinner Committee
Linda O’Shea
Museums & Collections Committee, Auction & Jumble Committee
Duncan Simons
Heritage Chair

Committees are essential to the successful operation of the Trust, providing a vast amount of expertise across the full range of our activities. Many volunteers serve regularly on our standing committees, with others assisting on an ad hoc basis.

Not only do committee members provide time and talent, they ensure the continued democratic functioning of this broad-based community organisation. Our committees include:

Management Committees:

  • Development Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Heritage Committee
  • Buy Back Bermuda (joint initiative with Bermuda Audubon Society)

Advisory Committees:

  • Archaeological Research Committee
  • Education Committee
  • Environmental Committee
  • Museums & Collections Committee
  • Publications Committee